

THE EUROPEAN EDUCATION AREA AND THE EUROPEAN SCHOOLS

Conference for the 70th anniversary of the European School System and the European School Luxembourg I • Luxembourg - 19 October 2023

PROGRAMME HIGHLIGHTS

8:45 - Registration

9:30 - Welcome speeches and greeting messages

Mr Andreas Beckmann, Secretary-General of the European Schools

Mr Martin Wedel, Director of the European School Luxembourg 1

Ms Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission (video message)

Mr Claude Meisch, Minister for Education, Children and Youth, Luxembourg

Mr Johannes Hahn, European Commissioner for Budget and Administration (video message)

10:15 – 12:10 Keynotes and video interventions (with coffee break)

Dr Suzanne Dillon, Chair, OECD Future of Education and Skills 2030 Global Forum: The Future of Education and Skills

Ms Ilana Cicurel, European Parliament CULT Committee: European Schools - opportunities and challenges

Mr Andreas Beckmann, Secretary-General of the European Schools: The past, the present and the future of the ES System

12:10 - 13:10 Panel discussion 1

Education in the 21st century and the contribution from the ES (ideas, expectations, vision)

Participants: Ms Ilana Cicurel, Dr Suzanne Dillon, Mr Daniel Gassner (Director ES Karlsruhe), Ms Diana Saccardo (ES Inspector, Italy), Mr Manuel Bordoy (Deputy Secretary-General of the European Schools), Mr Byron Springer (CoSUP President), Ms Mairtin Maire (ISTC) Ms Helen Valentine (InterParents)

14:40 – 16:15 Panel discussion 2 and video intervention, Q and A session Opening up the system of the European Schools

Participants: Mr Lex Folscheid (First Government Councilor and Head of Cabinet, Luxembourg), Mr Christian Roques (European Commission, Deputy Director-General for DG Human Resources and Security), Mr Donato Scioscioli, (Head of Delegation, Italy), Dr Károly Pála (Executive Coordinator OSG), Mr Anton Hrovath, (Director ES Munich), Mr Félix de Merode (Director of the Accredited ES Brussels-Argenteuil), Mr Tom Liddon Shavin (CoSEEA President)

16:30 – 17:00 Concluding remarks and farewell: Ms Roberta Metsola (President of the European Parliament), Mr Andreas Beckmann, Mr Martin Wedel

17:00 – 18:30 Cocktail and music

Video interventions of Directors and Deputy Directors, Teachers, Students, Alumni, musical performances, Posters, Exhibition stands, Videos, and other presentations of good practices in the European Schools

