À propos de notre école

The European Schools began in October 1953 in Luxembourg, on the initiative of officials of the European Coal and Steel Community, with the support of the Community’s institutions and the Luxembourg Government. This experiment in education, side by side, of children of different mother tongues and nationalities quickly took shape as the six different governments and Ministries of Education co-operated in matters of curricula, appointment of teachers, inspection and recognition of levels attained.

In April 1957, the signing of the Protocol made the Luxembourg School the first official European School. The first European Baccalaureate was held there in July 1959 and the qualification was recognised as fulfilling basic entrance requirements by all the universities of the member states.


Educated side by side, untroubled from infancy by divisive prejudices, acquainted with all that is great and good in the different cultures, it will be borne upon them as they mature that they belong together. Without ceasing to look to their own lands with love and pride, they will become in mind Europeans, schooled and ready to complete and consolidate the work of their fathers before them, to bring into being a united and thriving Europe.

Jean Monnet 1953

The success of this educational experiment encouraged the European Economic Community and Euratom to press for the establishment of other European Schools at their various centres. Today there are 13 traditional European Schools in 6 different countries.

Since 2012, two European Schools exist in Luxembourg : the European School Luxembourg 1 (ESL1) – Kirchberg and the European School Luxembourg 2 (ESL2) – Bertrange/Mamer. Both follow the same curriculum and have the same administrative structure. Pupils are directed to one or the other school, when they join the European Schools of Luxembourg.

Both schools have the 3 cycles: nursery, primary and secondary. Also, both schools have an Anglophone, Francophone and German speaking section and teach Irish. All the pupils of the following mother tongues and sections are automatically enrolled in the ESL1: Bulgarian, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Latvian, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, and Swedish. All pupils of the following mother tongues and sections are automatically enrolled in the ESL2: Czech, Danish, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Maltese, Romanian, Slovenian, Slovakian and Croatian.